Slideshow Gallery


Children in Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. This covers the following seven areas of learning and development which are important and inter-connected.

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and to thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  • Communication and Language;
  • Physical Development; and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

Additionally, the curriculum supports children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World, and
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

These seven key areas are at the core of the children's learning within the Nursery and Reception and form the foundations upon which the children will build as they move up to Form 1 and further up the school.

Through the provision of child-led activities every day, children within our Foundation Stage are encouraged to ‘have a go’ and feel secure in taking chances to try something new, even if they may not initially succeed.

The needs of the children are met by a strong team of staff who know all of the children very well and regularly observe children’s interests and interactions. As a result, the staff are aware of the needs of each individual and see the best way of supporting them whilst extending their knowledge and learning.